UAE License Holder

UAE residents rejoice as their valid driver’s license now permits them to drive in nearly 50 countries around the world without an international license. According to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation (MoFAIC), the list of countries has increased from the previously recognized Austria, Slovakia, Luxembourg, China, Finland, Romania, Denmark and Serbia, bringing the total number of countries to nearly 50.

The countries where UAE license holders are permitted to drive without an international license are:

  1. Algeria
  2. Austria
  3. Bahrain
  4. Canada
  5. China
  6. Comoros
  7. Denmark
  8. Djibouti
  9. Finland
  10. France
  11. Germany
  12. Greece
  13. Hungary
  14. Iraq
  15. Ireland
  16. Italy
  17. Jordan
  18. Kuwait
  19. Latvia
  20. Lebanon
  21. Lithuania
  22. Luxembourg
  23. Mauritania
  24. Morocco
  25. Netherlands
  26. New Zealand
  27. Norway
  28. Oman
  29. Palestine
  30. Poland
  31. Romania
  32. Saudi Arabia
  33. Serbia
  34. Singapore
  35. Slovakia
  36. Somalia
  37. South Africa
  38. Spain
  39. Sudan
  40. Sweden
  41. Switzerland
  42. Syria
  43. Tunisia
  44. Turkey
  45. UK
  46. USA
  47. Yemen

Residents who are new to the UAE from the UK, US, France, Japan, Germany, Italy, Belgium, Netherlands, Switzerland, Denmark, Greece, Spain, Sweden, Austria, Ireland, Norway, Turkey, Canada, Poland, South Korea, Finland, South Africa, and Australia, can easily change their driver’s license issued by their home country to that of the UAE’s without undergoing rigorous driving tests.

The required documents to carry out the process include a letter from the employer, a legal translation of the foreign license in Arabic, and a passport sized picture